the state


-of music in 2008; finnegan by jgrimsrud
Tuesday, 30 December 2008, 16:38
Filed under: -of localism, -of sound, -of the new year

we asked our friend, & local blogger extraordinaire, brent finnegan about his favorite albums of the year.  he replied:

I don’t go out of my way to seek new music anymore. I rely almost entirely on friends’ recommendations and Pandora. To be honest, I haven’t paid much attention to albums in years. Albums made more sense when you had a physical, tangible unit (like a record, a cassette or a CD) to put into the stereo. All my music is now on an external USB drive. I listen to singles, mixes and playlists, not albums. As far as I’m concerned, the album is dead.

So, I can’t give you a top 10 albums of 2008 list. But I can say that this year, I listened to a lot of Sigur Ros, Kodomo, Dungen, Film School, Malajube, Doves, Aphex Twin, Boards of Canada, and The Octopus Project. Here are a few of my Here are a few of my favorites since August.

¡thanks brent!  & we’ve been glad to see your recent posts up at hburg news, i.e. the bob goodlatte piece & the discussion of potential virginia noose legislation.

and, as a stodgy musician who still owns cds and loves to buy vinyl, i need to point out that independant music, and especially vinyl, is the main growth sector in the music economy right now.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] brent finnegan’s […]

Pingback by -of music in 2008 « the state




Leave a Reply

